Simple Serial Read from A/D device

dangdongho1

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi guys, my first post on this forum, and it's going to be a long one :playful:.

I'm just getting back into programming. I have some limited experience - over the years: Quickbasic, Visual Basic 6 and dabbled in PIC programming and also with HTML/CSS. I have written some useful and workable solutions, and therefore I have some understanding with algorithms and programming, but C# is pushing my limits. I want to learn the "C" type structure because of the similarities with Java and "Processing and Arduino" which I'm currently involved with.

To set the scene (if I haven't already :drunk:), this is where I'm currently at. I've already written the software in "Processing 2.2.1" and it works as required, but I want more on the GUI side, hence learning C#.

It's basically a data logger. The Arduino board (A/D converter) is reliably outputting data, 10bit (0-1023) to the serial bus at 100 samples per second. The data is read and saved to a file for further evaluation (x/y plot and some basic math). The A/D converter is connected to a load cell and the software will record and evaluate the thrust performance of home-made model rocket engines (sugar rockets and black powder rockets).

This is a personal hobby project and the software will be posted on some pyrotechnic and model rocket forums that I'm associated with.

So finally, this is the C# code that I got off the net:
using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Data;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Text;
using System.Windows.Forms;
using System.IO.Ports;

namespace SimpleSerial
{
    public partial class Form1 : Form
    {
        // Add this variable 
        string RxString;

public Form1()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
        }

private void buttonStart_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            serialPort1.PortName = "COM8";