Selecting and inserting into sql database

lional

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi
I am very new to C# and learning as I go along
I am writing a student app
So what I am trying to accomplish is the following:
I have a table with modules linked to a subject. So when a student registers a subject I want the modules to automatically be written to the StudyHistory table.
I have tried the following script, it is not the best I am sure but I learn more and more each day

Any history will be appreciated
C#:
                conn = new SqlConnection(cs.DBConn);
                conn.Open();
                string querySelectedStudentModule = "select ModuleNumber,ModuleName from Modules where fkSubjectNumber='" + studentCourseSubject + "' and Archived = '0'";
                SqlCommand cmdSelectedStudentModule = new SqlCommand(querySelectedStudentModule);
                cmdSelectedStudentModule.Connection = conn;

SqlDataReader rdrSelectedStudentModule = cmdSelectedStudentModule.ExecuteReader();

////// Loop through the result set
                while (rdrSelectedStudentModule.Read())
                {
                    studentModule = rdrSelectedStudentModule["ModuleNumber"].ToString();
                    studentModuleName = rdrSelectedStudentModule["ModuleName"].ToString();

int incrementStudentNumber = subjectPaymentNumber + 1;
                    string convertedNumber = incrementStudentNumber.ToString().PadLeft(6, '0');
                    string completeHistoryNumber = "HIS" + convertedNumber;

string queryInsertStudyHistory = "insert into StudyHistory (StudyHistoryNumber,StudentNumber,CourseNumber,CourseName,SubjectNumber,SubjectName,ModuleNumber,ModuleName) " +
                                "VALUES (@StudyHistoryNumber,@StudentNumber,@CourseNumber,@CourseName,@SubjectNumber,@SubjectName,@ModuleNumber,@ModuleName)";

SqlCommand cmdInsertStudyHistory = new SqlCommand(queryInsertStudyHistory);
                    cmdInsertStudyHistory.Connection = conn;