• Hello and welcome to our new forums. We upgraded our forum sites to a more robust and modern system which we hope you will enjoy. Be sure to check out your profile by clicking the button on the top right and configure your preferences, signature, time zone, avatar, etc. as you wish. If you need help with using this new forum'ware try the help link on the bottom right.

    Click here to review your account now.

no d?finition for RequestAccessAsync in windows10 but i need it

blaise

Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2016
Messages
5
Programming Experience
Beginner
[FONT=&quot]this is normal with windows10 for a universal application since it is the OS that manages the permission of the user OK fine !!! But my app is automatically compatible windows 8.x at submission store and it fails since with 8.x it is the programmer who manages the authorization with the code:
[/FONT]
Code:
[COLOR=#454545][FONT=&quot]  Var accessStatus = await Geolocator.RequestAccessAsync (); request access[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=#454545][FONT=&quot]Switch (accessStatus) // test accessStatus
[/FONT][/COLOR]
[FONT=&quot]In visual studio 2015 no definition in geolocator for requestaccessasync (), (only "equal" and "reference equal") someone would know how to get around this problem I've been searching for a week and i can use this function with visualstudio10
merry chrismas for everyone[/FONT]
 

JuggaloBrotha

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 23, 2011
Messages
146
Location
Lansing, MI; USA
Programming Experience
10+
What does Geolocator.RequestAccessAsync() return?
We have no idea what Object or variable accessStatus even is to begin helping you.
 

blaise

Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2016
Messages
5
Programming Experience
Beginner
What does Geolocator.RequestAccessAsync() return?
We have no idea what Object or variable accessStatus even is to begin helping you.
nothing because if i call this methode in visualstudio 2015 return "geolocator no contain d?finition for requestaccessasync".I think that is because on windows10 this request is managed automaticly by the OS and doesn't exist more but i need it forcompatibility with window8.Something about this,do you understand?
 

JohnH

C# Forum Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 23, 2011
Messages
482
Location
Norway
Programming Experience
10+
I have tried it with windowsphone 8.1 but it' the same, thank.
For that I think you need to install "Windows 8.1 and Windows Phone 8.0/8.1 Tools" on Windows 10. I'm using VS 2015 and see that is an option ('install w8 tools') in New Project dialog under Windows 8, or modify VS setup and select same there.
 

blaise

Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2016
Messages
5
Programming Experience
Beginner
For that I think you need to install "Windows 8.1 and Windows Phone 8.0/8.1 Tools" on Windows 10. I'm using VS 2015 and see that is an option ('install w8 tools') in New Project dialog under Windows 8, or modify VS setup and select same there.
"Windows 8.1 and Windows Phone 8.0/8.1 Tools" on window 10 are installed, have a good day, thank :smug:
 
Top Bottom