Question New to C#. Wanting to build an app "from scratch". Where would you start?

C#AppBuilder

Programming Experience
1-3
Hi. I am new to C#. I have 1 year of programmign experience in Powershell. Well it's a scripting language but you get what I mean. I've only ever used Python and Powershell.

Anyway I've built an "app" in Powershell (script -> .exe with PS2EXE then created an installer for it with InnoSetup) that changes the current BitLocker PIN and works 100% bug-free. It has a beautiful interactive GUI using WPF that I really like. But I find this lame coz it's not a proper app developed eg in C#.

I want to redo it in C# using the same BitLocker Modules I used in PS to begin with. But since I've never done C# and don't know much, where would you start? I have specific goals regarding the language and only want to do 3 apps for myself.

I looked into this GitHub - roman-miniailov/BitlockerManager: Bitlocker manager for .Net Framework and I tried to use it as the base app but for some reason it wouldn't run in VS.

How would you guys go about it?

What behavior are you seeing?

It wouldn't run which doesn't make logical sense to me. Mind you tho, I am a complete newb to C# and would really love to create the 3 apps for myself translating from Powershell into C# so to speak. I did make sure to import the NuGet Package

You need to be more descriptive about "wouldn't run".

Is there an error message? Do you see a console window flash and go away?

Last edited:
I have been programming in Powershell for a year. Now I want to learn C# with the exclusive intention to create apps for myself.

Experienced pro or hobby devs, how would you go about achieving this goal? What would be the best strategy?

Best strategy is to first learn the language is to learn the language ... on it's own. Then learn the libraries/frameworks/APIs that will you need to support the specific needs of the app you are planning. Repeat the previous step for other apps.