FYI Amusing C# [Properties, Collection initialization, LINQ, etc.]

DracoConstellation

Programming Experience
5-10
Hi everyone.
To avoid long stories I'll get straight to the point... Being a programmer, I check third-party open-source projects. Over the time I have collected a number of interesting C# features that I would like to share with you.

Properties and how they can be used
As we all know, a property is a pair of functions - accessor and mutator - designed for writing or reading the value of a field. At least, things used to be that way before the release of C# version 3.0. In it's
traditional form, a property used to look like this:
C#:
class A
{
  int index;
  public int Index
  {
    get { return index; }
    set { index = value; }
  }
}
Years went by, and both the language standards and properties have acquired a number of new mechanisms.
So, here we go. The C# 3.0 standard brought us the well-known feature that allowed you to omit the field; that is, to declare a property in the following way:
C#:
class A
{
  public int Index { get; set; }
}
The idea was pushed even further in C# 6.0 by allowing programmers to omit "set" as well:
C#:
class A
{
  public int Index { get; }
}
It was possible to use this style before C# 6.0 too, but you could not assign anything to a variable declared in such a way. Now it has in fact become an equivalent to readonly fields, i.e. the values of such properties can be assigned only in the constructor.
Properties and fields can be initialized in different ways. For example, like this:
C#:
class A
{
  public List<int> Numbers { get; } = new List<int>(); 
}
Or like this:
C#:
class A
{
  public List<int> Numbers = new List<int>();
}
One more version:
C#:
class A
{
  public List<int> Numbers => new List<int>();
}
In the last case, though, you will be unpleasantly surprised. You see, what we have actually created there is the following property:
C#:
class A
{
  public List<int> Numbers { get { return new List<int>(); } }
}